Fort House

www.historicwaco.org

(circa 1868)
503 S. 4th St.
(254) 753-5166
For hours and days open, please visit their website at http://www.historicwaco.org/visit/public-tours/
Special tours by appointment
Adults $5, Seniors and Students $4, Military free
First floor is accessible to the physically challenged (assist ramp).
 
The Fort House’s “Museum Room” features changing exhibits. To learn about the current special exhibit, visit the Historic Waco Foundation web site.

Fort House, built in 1868 by William Aldridge Fort at 503 South Forth Street, was purchased by the Junior League of Waco in 1956. Gifts of $1000 each from seven Waco businessmen restored the first floor, funds from the Cooper Foundation permitted upstairs restoration, and Miss Ida Morris funded a second dining room interpretation. The house is Greek Revival Style, indicative of the Fort Family’s Alabama heritage. It is constructed of pink brick, locally made. Greek Revival indicated perfect exterior balance, which can be seen in the pairs of arched windows on both sides and the chimneys on either end. About 1876, Mr. Fort elongated the structure to add two bedrooms on the upper floor, a new kitchen, and a three-walled room on the first floor that was used as a provisions shed. This house features a “Museum Room” in the upstairs portion of the house in which HWF can showcase its many collection items. Exhibitions change twice a year normally, and focus on national historical events and their effects locally.

Tour the home during regular operating hours, or call (254) 753-5166 to arrange for a private showing for groups.

Driving time from Tourist Info Center is approximately 5 minutes

Average tour time is 30 minutes.